19 July 2022

MINUTES OF AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall Portsmouth on Tuesday, 19 July 2022 at 2.00 pm

Council Members Present

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor Hugh Mason (in the Chair)

Councillors

Yinka Adeniran Leo Madden
Dave Ashmore Brian Madgwick
Chris Attwell George Madgwick

Kimberly Barrett Lee Mason
Simon Bosher Kirsty Mellor
Ryan Brent Gemma New
Stuart Brown Terry Norton

Tom Coles Scott Payter-Harris

Cal Corkery Steve Pitt

Jason Fazackarley
George Fielding
Charlotte Gerada
Lewis Gosling
Graham Heaney
Suzy Horton

Darren Sanders
Asghar Shah
Russell Simpson
John Smith
Judith Smyth
Benedict Swann

Lee Hunt Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE

Mark Jeffery Matthew Winnington

60. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence had been received on behalf of Councillor Matthew Atkins, Councillor Ian Holder, Councillor Abdul Kadir, Councillor Robert New, Councillor Linda Symes and Councillor Daniel Wemyss.

Apologies for lateness had been received from Councillor Lynne Stagg.

61. Deputations from the Public under Standing Order No 24

The Lord Mayor advised that no deputation requests had been received.

62. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen - Jacqui Hancock & Margaret Foster BEM

The Lord Mayor advised that the motions to consider the proposals to confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman on Jacqui Hancock and Margaret Foster BEM, former Members of the City Council, had been withdrawn.

63. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen - Frank Jonas BEM

The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Frank Jonas BEM as an honorary alderman would need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting.

It was

Proposed by Councillor Scott Payter-Harris Seconded by Councillor Simon Bosher

That the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Frank Jonas BEM, a former member and Lord Mayor of Portsmouth City Council.

The proposer of the motion gave a short speech in support of the motion.

The vote in support was unanimous except for one abstention.

RESOLVED that the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Frank Jonas BEM and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to him at a future city council meeting.

64. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen - Donna Jones

The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Donna Jones as an honorary alderwoman would need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting.

It was

Proposed by Councillor Scott Payter-Harris Seconded by Councillor Simon Bosher

That the title of honorary alderwoman be conferred on Donna Jones a former member and Leader of Portsmouth City Council.

The proposer of the motion gave a short speech in support of the motion.

In accordance with Standing Order 48(b), eight Councillors stood to request that a recorded vote be taken.

The following members voted in favour of the motion

Councillor Yinka Adeniran
Councillor Chris Attwell
Councillor Simon Bosher
Councillor Stuart Brown
Councillor Cal Corkery
Councillor George Fielding
Councillor Lewis Gosling

Councillor Dave Ashmore Councillor Kimberly Barrett Councillor Ryan Brent Councillor Tom Coles Councillor Jason Fazackarley Councillor Charlotte Gerada

Councillor Graham Heaney

Councillor Suzy Horton Councillor Mark Jeffery Councillor Leo Madden Councillor Brian Madqwick Councillor George Madgwick Councillor Hugh Mason Councillor Lee Mason Councillor Kirsty Mellor Councillor Terry Norton Councillor Gemma New Councillor Scott Payter-Harris Councillor Steve Pitt **Councillor Darren Sanders** Councillor Asghar Shah Councillor John Smith Councillor Russell Simpson Councillor Judith Smyth Councillor Benedict Swann Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson Councillor Matthew Winnington

No Councillors voted against the motion

The following member abstained from voting

Councillor Lee Hunt

RESOLVED that the title of honorary alderwoman be conferred on Donna Jones and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to her at a future city council meeting.

65. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen - Rob Wood

The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Rob Wood as an honorary alderman would need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting.

It was

Proposed by Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson Seconded by Councillor Suzy Horton

That the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Rob Wood, a former member and Lord Mayor of Portsmouth City Council.

The proposer of the motion gave a short speech in support of the motion.

The vote in support was unanimous.

RESOLVED that the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Rob Wood and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to him at a future city council meeting.

The meeting	concluded	at 2.19	pm.

Lord Mayor			